The Mountbatten Maritime Award

The Mountbatten Maritime Award

The Award is made to the author of the work of literature published in English during the qualifying period that, in the opinion of the Awards Committee, has contributed most significantly to public awareness of maritime issues.

Eligible work must have a maritime focus, and includes scholarly or popular non-fiction on a technical, scientific, environmental, economic, industrial, legal, administrative, social or defence-related theme, as well as works of biography, history, fiction and poetry.

The Mountbatten Maritime Award

Judging criteria

  • Depth of understanding of the maritime subject
  • Literary quality, and clarity of exposition
  • Accuracy of factual content
  • Influence on the public understanding of current maritime issues

Recent Award Winners

2013 Rose George
2014 Andrew Adams and Richard Woodman
2015 Prof. Barry Gough
2016 Peter Hennessy and James Jinks
2017 Lt Cdr Reginald Cogswell RN MBE

The award has been presented annually since 2001.
The prize is an engraved silver Armada plate.