Maritime Media Awards

Inspiring and honouring writers and film-makers whose work deepens public understanding of Britain’s dependence on the sea

The Maritime Media Awards 2017 will take place on tbc at the Institute of Directors, 116 Pall Mall, London, SW1Y 5ED.

This year marks the twenty-second year of the Maritime Media Awards, which were launched in 1995 by the Maritime Foundation to honour journalists, authors and others whose work in the media has served to create greater public understanding of maritime issues, and of Britain’s manifold dependence on the sea.

Four of the six annual Awards are open to public nomination:

The Awards Committee very much welcomes the part played by the public in bringing attention to deserving work across the range of media the Awards represent. This website explains the purpose, eligibility and the judging criteria for each of these four Awards. The Awards suite also includes the Royal Navy – Desmond Wettern Fleet Award and the Maritime Fellowship Award, for which nominations are made, respectively, by the Royal Navy and the Maritime Media Awards Committee.

The Desmond Wettern Media Award

for Best Journalistic Contribution


The Mountbatten Maritime Award

for Best Literary Contribution


The Donald Gosling Award

for Best Television or Film Contribution


The First Sea Lord’s Digital Media Award

for Best Use of Digital and Social Media


The Maritime Fellowship Award

for outstanding contribution to stimulating public engagement in maritime issues


The Desmond Wettern Fleet Award

for Best Contribution to a Positive Image of the Royal Navy